An on-screen notice will appear advising you when recording space is low (80% full) or full. If you are recording a program and run out of recording space, the recording will stop. You can always see how much recording space is available from My Recordings. You can also manually delete recordings or set your DVR to automatically delete recorded programs when space is needed.
DVR: How will I know when I’m almost out of recording space?